London, Part 2!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went back to London for the day, (both ways for 10 pounds which is about $20 in total and 10 hours of my time) to visit one of my friends from my uni back home and to explore the sites a little bit more.  I left Swansea on Thursday evening, crashed at Desiree’s place in East London for the evening, and then set about exploring bright and early the next day.  This started with a 3 hour tour of the Tower of London (pics are below, none of the jewels though.  It isn’t allowed)  From this I learned that cobblestones are not my friends, crows are kind of mean, and that the queen’s royal body guards’ outfits look quite similar to the docens’ outfits.  It was incredibly interesting to see all of the jewels and even to just walk the path that so many historic people have also tread. Did you know that there is a super special spoon used for British Coronations to hold the anointing oil?  I didn’t.  I also took part in this cute little thing they had going at mid-day for the kids, as it is the UK’s half-term so the students had the week off, about the war of the roses.  I spent most of this day with some pretty fearsome nausea so I took the early afternoon hours a little slower and found a cute little cafe, the name of which escapes me but it is literally right outside the entrance of the New Scotland Yard office in Westminster, to eat some lunch and calm my tummy.  After I was feeling better I took to Bond Street to see if I could soak up any of the fashion week prettiness that the high street could provide. In the end I got a couple of free samples, spent a little bit of cash on some makeup ($30 USD for what is normally, and I checked first, roughly $200 worth), and realized after walking behind a woman who could only be a model that I was in no way suited for that kind of lifestyle.  I also learned that even the police in London don’t always know where they are going as I got 6 different sets of directions from how to get to Bond Street from the same street as that cafe.  I am not quite cut out for a city as big as London, Baltimore is good for me.  I also saw the most UK of cars.

Leave a Reply

